The 2021 Speakers

Pam M.jpg

Pamela Macintyre

Prof Macintyre is an Emeritus specialist pain medicine physician and consultant anaesthetist at the Royal Adelaide Hospital in South Australia and a clinical Professor at the University of Adelaide. Prior to retiring at the end of June 2020 she had been medical lead of the Acute Pain Service since it was established at the beginning of 1989 – the first in Australasia. She continues to teach medical students who all do a ‘Pain Week’ in their 5th year and attend a number of more practical acute pain sessions in their final year of study.

She was lead editor for the 2nd and 3rd editions of Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence and the 5th edition of her book Acute Pain Management a Practical Guide, coauthored with Stephan Schug, was published in June 2021. Many of her publications have reflected her concerns about the safe use of opioids in the acute pain setting, from preadmission to after discharge.


Felicia Cox Lead Nurse Specialist and Head of Pain Services, Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust

After qualification, Felicia worked as a perioperative nurse in Australia and then the UK. She has worked in pain management since 1997 and is the lead nurse specialist and head of pain services at Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust. She is a co-opted member of the Council of the British Pain Society. Felicia steps down in December 2019 as the Chair of the Forum. 



Dr Renee McCulloch Consultant in Paediatric Palliative Medicine, Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust.


DBoard head shot.jpg

Daniel Board (BSc MCSP MRes) is a Specialist Pain Physiotherapist working at Chelsea and Westminster Hospital in London. Clinically, he uses a psychologically informed physiotherapeutic approach to help people living with a variety of pain conditions. Daniel has a special interest in refugee healthcare and has helped to design and deliver specialist pain services for torture-survivors in both the NHS and charity settings. He is also an early career researcher, having completed a Masters in Clinical Research. His research explores pain among torture-survivors, with a focus on communication, pain beliefs, and their experiences of services for managing pain.



Ruth Roddison has worked as the Lead Specialist Nurse and manager of the In-Patient Pain Service in Rotherham Hospital for 24 years.    Prior to this role, since qualifying in 1986 she has worked in Paediatrics, Orthopaedics, Day surgery and General surgery, and worked for 2 years as a lecturer practitioner between Rotherham Hospital and the School of Nursing and Midwifery at The University of Sheffield.  Ruth is the Non-Medical Prescribing Lead for The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust.


Dr Ann Williamson.JPG

Dr Ann Williamson has been a General Practitioner for thirty two years and has used hypnosis for more than twenty years to help her patients deal with stress and anxiety and to help them facilitate change in how they live their lives. She is an accredited member of the British Society of Clinical & Academic Hypnosis (BSCAH), a certified NLP Master Practitioner and has had training in brief solution oriented therapy and other approaches. She has been involved for many years with (BSCAH) teaching Health Professionals how to use hypnotic techniques both for themselves and within their own field of clinical expertise. She runs stress management, personal development and brief psychological interventions workshops on request, as well as seeing private clients for therapy.


Georgina Morley.jpg

Georgina Morley Georgina Morley, PhD is Director of the Nursing Ethics Program (NursE Program). an innovative collaborative program between the Center for Bioethics and the Nursing Institute. The NursE Program is dedicated to nurturing and sustaining a network of nurses to develop expertise in examining the ethical dimensions of patient care through the lens of nursing practice. The program is focused on five core areas: nurse education, scholarly work, clinical excellence, program development and the development of interventions to address moral distress.

Dr. Morley was appointed as Assistant Staff, Nurse Ethicist in June 2020 within the Center for Bioethics and works closely with the Nursing Institute and the Heart, Vascular and Thoracic Institute (HVTI). Georgina received a BA in Philosophy from King’s College London and went on to train as a nurse, receiving a Post Graduate Diploma in Adult Nursing in 2012 and a Masters of Science in Nursing from King’s College London in 2014. Dr. Morley is a registered nurse in the United Kingdom, having worked on the Major Trauma Ward at St. Mary’s Hospital, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust and in Cardiac Critical Care at Barts Heart Centre, Barts Health NHS Trust.

Dr. Morley went on to complete her doctoral studies at the University of Bristol, Centre for Ethics in Medicine exploring moral distress as experienced by critical care nurses in the United Kingdom. Georgina’s PhD was a feminist empirical bioethics project entitled, “What is ‘moral distress’ in nursing and how should we respond to it?” and was funded by a prestigious Wellcome Trust Society and Ethics Fellowship for Healthcare Professionals. Georgina is recognized as an international expert on moral distress, has been invited to speak on the topic in both the UK and US, and has published peer-reviewed papers and book chapters on the topic.


Martin Galligan is a lecturer practitioner at The Royal Marsden School with a focus on advanced practice and symptom management and continues to work clinically within the Royal Marsden pain management team. His background has been largely devoted towards pain management and has worked as both a clinical nurse specialist and lead nurse across acute, chronic and complex cancer pain settings. He has a passion for cancer pain, pain education and development of pain services. In his previous role as Lead Nurse for Acute Pain services he was able to led the team to win Acute Pain Team of the Year at the UK National Acute Pain Symposium 2018

He is the current chair of the Pain Nurse Network and elected member of the British Pain Society Pain Education Special Interest Group, RCN Pain and Palliative Care Forum and has been appointed to EFIC Academy board.  


His research interest are focused on knowledge and attitudes of health care professionals in relation to pain management and is a pre-clinical academic fellow awarded by the Royal Marsden Charity and is completing pre-doctorial research work into the needs of health care professionals when managing complex cancer pain.

Rockett photo.jpg

Dr Mark Rockett is a consultant Anaesthetist and Specialist in Pain Medicine at Derriford Hospital in Plymouth. He attended Bristol University Medical School, qualifying MB ChB in 1993 with an intercalated BSc in Psychology.

He is a fellow of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and of the Faculties of Pain Medicine in the UK and Australasia and a member of the Royal College of Physicians. He trained in Pain Medicine in Edinburgh and Auckland, New Zealand, receiving the Barbara Walker Prize for Excellence in Pain Medicine.

. He has a PhD in Neuroscience from the University of Edinburgh. He is an examiner for the Royal College of Anaesthetists Faculty of Pain Medicine. He has served on the Faculty of Pain Medicine board as acute pain representative and received a faculty commendation in 2016 for contributions to acute pain medicine and perioperative medicine in the UK. His research interests include the psychological aspects of acute pain, the transition to persistent pain and understanding service provision for inpatient pain management.